Top Ten New Years Resolutions

HAPPY WEDNESDAY

Happy Wednesday and HAPPY NEW YEAR! It’s time for my unscientific TOP TEN list that isn’t based on decade’s long research, but my opinion…and sometimes a little help from the internet! (like today…hehehe)

How many of you make New Years resolutions? I have to admit I really don’t believe in picking one time of the year to make a resolution. Did you know that only about 8% of resolutions are actually kept and met? Who needs that type of pressure? Not me! lol

I do believe in setting goals for myself, and that is something I do year round. Sometimes I meet them and sometimes I don’t, but for some reason if I don’t make my goal it never feels like I’ve failed…like it does when I have tried to make a few resolutions in years past.

Today I want to share the TOP TEN New Years resolutions that I found on this fun site that had lots of information about resolutions…from the % of Americans who make resolutions, how many people never make resolutions, the types of resolutions made…like weight loss etc. Anyway, I found it interesting and you might too. Here’s the link if you want to check it out, but I hope you’ll finish reading my post first! lol

Ready?

Top Ten New Years Resolutions

 

1

Lose Weight

2

Getting Organized

3

Spend Less, Save More

4

Enjoy Life to the Fullest

5

Staying Fit and Healthy

6

Learn Something Exciting

7

Quit Smoking

8

Help Others in Their Dreams

9

Fall in Love

10

Spend More Time with Family

Since I don’t really believe in making a resolution during New Years, I can’t share what mine would’ve been, but I do wonder if you believe in New Years resolutions? If so, did you make a resolution that wasn’t on this list? And if you did, care to share?

HAPPY NEW YEAR…I hope that everyone is blessed with a wonderful, amazing, and dream fulfilling 2013!!!

Next Post
Leave a comment

35 Comments

  1. I believe in them, but don’t know that I’ve ever kept one. Even quitting smoking–my greatest accomplishment!–didn’t have to do with that. I’m one who doesn’t want to set myself up for failure, so I don’t make them.

    Reply
    • We definitely have that in common Liz….that’s why I go for the “goal” setting instead…plus you can do it year round and it’s not so crushing for some reason if you fail! HAPPY NEW YEAR!

      Reply
  2. Steph

     /  January 2, 2013

    I don’t tend to do New Year’s resolutions. I never tend to keep them, so I’ve given up a long time ago.

    But I have a few good intentions, such as lose a bit of weight, go walking more often and spend more time playing with the cats (and less online). Fingers crossed! ;-)

    Happy New Year!

    Reply
    • I’m with you Steph…..and I’ll cross my fingers for you. I need to do a few of those good intentions too! HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!!

      Reply
  3. This year I wrote out my writing goals and posted it everywhere. My oldest granddaughter bought me a writing journal to help. Wish me luck!

    Reply
    • Good Luck Sandra…..I have a set of writing goals as well…my list from last year didn’t go as expected, so I was a bit more realistic this year! lol HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

      Reply
  4. To write everyday!
    Happy New Year!
    Neecy

    Reply
  5. With a late November birthday I pretty much set that date as my New Year. And with the passing of my mother, her Christmas gift is a card every year, full of promises, and stuffed in her stocking. This was card number five. :-( One thing I know is to make your goals/resolutions attainable. Or as the great Napolean Hill said, what the mind can concieve and believe it can achieve!

    Reply
  6. Sheri Fredricks

     /  January 2, 2013

    Nearly every item you mentioned is brought forward on my list each year. Happy new year, Christine!!

    Reply
  7. I believe in them and some I keep.

    Reply
    • For some reason I had issues keeping resolutions, but do much better setting goals! lol Thanks for coming by Ella and HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!

      Reply
  8. I don’t do resolutions either. I make goals throughout the year. Small goals and large goals. This year my goal is to become a better writer. Whether I sign a contract or not is out of my hands so I try not to worry about that. I can only control what I can control. I do want to lose more weight. In 2012 I lost 22lbs–3 lbs short of my goal but I’m happy with it. I need to get back on track. I was a little loosy-goosy over the holidays but thankfully didn’t gain anything back.

    Reply
    • It’s hard to diet over the holiday, but you came out a winner if you didn’t gain anything back…so that’s a huge accomplishment!

      Happy New Year Sharon…thanks for coming by :)

      Reply
  9. I think more in terms of goals myself. Some resolutions can be difficult to put concrete “Whoo hoo I did this!” statements to. I like a goal list where I can check off things I’ve accomplished.

    Reply
  10. Every year i make a resolution to get younger, and every year I break it.

    Reply
  11. I don’t really make resolutions, but I usually try to decide to fix something that’s been bothering me. This year it’s to yell at the kids less about doing their chores, homework, etc., while figuring out a better way to get them to do it. Good luck to me, LOL.

    Reply
  12. I do goals… And I intermix the non-writing ones with the writing ones to make them seem as important. Sometimes it works, sometimes not so much.

    Reply
    • All of my goals are mixed as well…and I hit some and miss others, but I don’t sweat it anymore. We can only do what we can do :) Happy New Year Sara!

      Reply
  13. Like you, I don’t typically make resolutions (the last was something like five years ago and I highly doubt I kept it, whatever it might have been). This year I got brave and made a couple. I’ll let you read what they are on my blog, but in short, they involve writing–which I consider more of a goal list than resolutions. :)

    Reply
  14. Mine is based on a programme I was listening to on the radio about a woman who has just published a book based upon her year of blogging where she tried to do something kind for someone every day. I like the idea of trying to do something small but extra rather than giving something up which is far more difficult.

    Reply
  1. Damn the Resolutions Enjoy the Party! « bridgesburning
  2. I Like Goals Better…. « Careknet's Blog
  3. Resolutions, the ’13 Edition « The Ranting Papizilla
  4. New Year Ahead! | IQ WOMAN
  5. Will You Make New Year’s Resolutions in 2013 ? « Anne Egros, Intercultural Executive Coach
  6. Not the R word! « fourkidsandthemom
  7. A fun New Years Resolution « My digital camera and me

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,213 other followers

